A pint of beer with a miniature pair of handcuffs holding a set of keys.

Wisconsin lawmakers passed a bill to increase the penalties for repeat drunk driving offenders and to align the penalties to those of our neighboring states. Changes will be made to penalties for convictions of a fourth or subsequent OWI charges occurring on or after January 1, 2017.

Fourth-Offense OWI

There will no longer be any differentiation between fourth-offense OWI’s in regards to how close together they occur.  Any fourth-offense OWI will be charged as a Class H Felony with a penalty of a monetary fine in the amount of $600 to $10,000, imprisonment of 60 days to 6 years, or both.

Fifth or Sixth Offense OWI Charges

A fifth and a sixth offense OWI will now be classified as a Class G felony, punishable by a fine of $600 to $25,000, imprisonment of six months to ten years, or both.

Seventh, Eighth or Ninth Offense OWI Charge

Seventh through ninth offense OWI charges will be a Class F felony, which comprises a 3 to 12 ½ year imprisonment, fine of up to $25,000, or both.

Tenth or Subsequent OWI and OWI Causing Injury

Under the new law, tenth or subsequent OWI offenses will be classified as a Class E felony, punishable by a fine of up to $50,000, imprisonment of 4 to 15 years, or both.

Hire Attorneys Who Keep Current on Wisconsin OWI Laws

The Act takes effect on January 1, 2017 and applies to violations committed or refusals occurring on or after that date.  Additionally, these are the standard guidelines and factors such as having a minor present in your vehicle can substantially increase the fines and prison sentences for all OWI offenses.  Wisconsin DUI Penalties are complicated and subject to change. Attorneys Nathan J. Dineen and Daniel R. Skarie keep current on the OWI laws in Wisconsin.  Contact us at 877-384-6800 for a Free Case Review.