Updated on February 3rd, 2021 at 10:49 pm
A second offense Wisconsin OWI is a misdemeanor charge. The penalties for a second offense DUI are much harsher than a first offense. Not only will you face license suspension and a fine, an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) must be installed, jail time will be served, and you will face a burden to your personal and professional life.
The Cost of a Second Offense DUI in Wisconsin
Not only will you face up to $1,100 (plus court costs) financially, but a Wisconsin OWI second offense will also cost you your time…in jail. A second offense drunk driving conviction will face 5 days to 6 months in jail. The amount of time in jail could cost you your job, unless you qualify for Huber work release.
Second Offense OWI Penalties on Wisconsin Driving Privilege
Your driver’s license will be revoked for a period of 12 to 18 months, with a 45 day waiting period before being able to apply for an Occupational License. The waiting period is one year if your previous offense occurred within 5 years. Your second offense misdemeanor drunk driving charge will also require the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device on all vehicles in your name.
Hire Attorney Nathan J. Dineen for the Best Defense for your Second Offense OWI
Wisconsin DUI Defense Nathan J. Dineen has the knowledge and experience to aggressively fight your second offense Wisconsin DUI. Attorney Dineen practices 100% OWI Defense in Wisconsin. Contact Attorney Nathan J. Dineen at 877-384-6800 for a Free Case Review.
Nathan J. Dineen