Updated on February 3rd, 2021 at 10:49 pm
When a Wisconsin driver gets pulled over by a police officer, he is likely to become nervous and maybe fumble words. A driver who has consumed alcohol is likely to have slurred speech, red glassy eyes, and slow reaction. A Wisconsin police officer may see these as signs of intoxication. An arrest for drunk driving is likely.
First Time Wisconsin DUI Offense
A first offense of drunk driving is considered a traffic violation in Wisconsin. A first offense Wisconsin DUI includes a fine, license suspension ranging from 6 months to a year, AODA assessment, Victim Impact Panel, and potential installation of an IID if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is over .15. However, a driver with a minor passenger under the age of 16 will face a misdemeanor charge along with jail time.
Wisconsin DUI Misdemeanor Offenses
Second, third, and fourth Wisconsin DUI offenses are considered misdemeanors; however, a fourth offense occurring within 5 years of a prior offense is a Felony. A misdemeanor in Wisconsin could mean up to one year in county jail. There is a minimum of a year driver’s license suspension, mandatory installation of an IID on all vehicles in your name, and an alcohol assessment and treatment. Penalties increase if an accident occurred or a person has a high Blood Alcohol Content (BAC).
Five or More DUI Offenses
These convictions are Felonies, which mean prison time and potentially tens of thousands of dollars in fines.
Hire a Wisconsin DUI Defense Attorney
Attorney Nathan J. Dineen of Vanden Heuvel & Dineen, S.C. is an experienced Wisconsin DUI Defense Attorney. He practices 100% DUI Defense in Eastern Wisconsin. Attorney Dineen has offices in Germantown, West Bend, Appleton, and Sister Bay for the convenience of his clients. Contact him at 1-877-384-6800 for a Free Case Review.