The Fourth District Judicial Court of Wisconsin determines separate penalty ranges for sentencing Sheboygan County DUI offenders. The fourth district is made up of Sheboygan, Calumet, Fond du Lac, Manitowoc, and Winnebago Counties.
DUI Penalty Ranges for Sheboygan
Mitigating factors keep sentencing on the low end. Aggravating factors tend to keep sentencing toward the high end of penalties. Sheboygan DUI mitigating factors are having no accidents. Aggravating factors for a Sheboygan DUI include accident or injury and a bad driving record. The defendant’s ability to pay and the conduct of the defendant since the offense (assessments and driver safety plans) are other factors that play a role in sentencing.
Fines, Jail, and Driver’s Licenses for Sheboygan DUI
DUI First Offense: A fine, driver’s license suspension for 6-9 months, and assessment must be completed with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) over .10.
DUI 2nd Offense: A fine to pay with 5 days to 6 months in jail, driver’s license suspension to last from 12 to 18 months. An Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is at the discretion of the Court unless a prior conviction occurred within the last five years.
DUI 3rd Offense: A fine and 30 days to 1 year in jail is the range for third time DUI offenders. Driver’s license will be revoked for 24-36 months and the installation of the IID is mandatory if there are 2 or more convictions within the last five years. The seizure of the defendant’s vehicle is at the discretion of the Court.
Any subsequent offenses increase in the fine, the time spent in jail/prison, and length of license revocation.
Alcohol Assessment and Driver Safety Plans for Sheboygan DUI
Sheboygan DUI offenders shall have an alcohol assessment for each offense, unless BAC is less than .10 for a first offense. Attending an alcohol assessment or taking a driver safety course before being court ordered is a mitigating factor that could help a Sheboygan DUI offender.
Hire the Right Attorney to Fight Your Sheboygan DUI
Attorney Nathan J. Dineen of Vanden Heuvel & Dineen, S.C. solely practices Wisconsin DUI Defense. He is a certified Standardized Field Sobriety Test (SFST) Instructor and Drug Recognition Evaluator (DRE). Take a look around the website. If you have a question regarding a Wisconsin DUI that cannot be answered by the website call Attorney Dineen at 1-877-384-6800, and he will answer your question for Free!