Updated on February 3rd, 2021 at 10:49 pm
There are many factors that determine the final sentencing of a Wisconsin DUI. Washington County, Wisconsin has certain guidelines that are set for all DUI offenses and some that are specific to multiple DUI offenses. Washington County is part of the Third Judicial District, which also includes Waukesha County, Jefferson County, and Ozaukee County.
Determination of Higher or Lower Penalties for Washington County DUI
Mitigating and Aggravating Factors are taken into consideration during plea offers and negotiation. Mitigating factors include age of a prior DUI offense, pre-conviction treatment, good driving records, cooperation with authorities, and positive attitude toward problem recognition are called mitigating factors. Mitigating factors justify less penalties/jail time served for the current offense. On the other hand, aggravating factors, such as poor driving, lack of remorse, lack of prior treatment history, uncooperative or violent behavior, and combination of drugs and alcohol, will increase the chance of the higher penalties. A mitigating factor could be a person charged with drunk driving for speeding, whereas an aggravating factor would be a person charged with drunk driving after striking a tree or person.
Fines, Jail, and Driver’s Licenses for Washington County DUI
DUI First Offense: First time DUI offenders will have to pay a fine with no jail time. Driver’s license will be suspended for 6-9 months, and will be able to apply for an occupational license within 30 days.
DUI 2nd Offense: A fine must be paid. A second offense could mean 5 days to 6 months in jail. Driver’s license suspension to last from 12 months to 18 months, with a 45 day waiting period before applying for an occupational license.
DUI 3rd Offense: Third time offenders must pay a fine and spend 30 days to 1 year in jail. Driver’s license will be revoked for 24-36 months, with a 90-120 day waiting period before applying for an occupational license.
Each additional offense increases the amount of the fine, the time spent in jail/prison, and license revocation.
Washington County Alcohol Assessment and Driver Safety Plans
Regardless of whether it’s a first DUI offense or a fifth DUI offense, all drunk driving offenders may be ordered to attend a class, community service or visit a site which shows the effect of victims and the adverse effects of alcohol abuse. The Court may also order restitution. Any DUI offender in Washington County will be ordered community service for an inability to pay a fine. Non-violent Washington County DUI offenders may qualify for Treatment Alternatives and Diversion (TAD) Program. This allows non-violent offenders an alternative to jail time, which includes community service and alcohol awareness and treatment programs. Last, an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) must be installed for first time offenders with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) over .15 and all other offenses.
The First Step to Fighting a Washington County DUI – Hire the Right Attorney
If caught in the unfortunate position of being charged with a Wisconsin DUI, it is important to find an attorney who will fight for your rights. Attorney Nathan J. Dineen has the knowledge and skills to fight for the best possible outcome. He is a certified Standardized Field Sobriety Test (SFST) Instructor and Drug Recognition Evaluator (DRE). Contact Attorney Dineen at 1-877-384-6800 for a Free Case Review. Remember to think before you drink, as your personal, professional, and financial assets may be affected.